Whoops! If this website isn't showing properly, it could be that you're using an old browser. For the full American Magazine experience, click here for details on updating your internet browser.
The American Logo
Greenback Tax
Tanager Wealth Management
My Expat Taxes

Sign up to The American magazine's newsletters (below) to receive more regular news, articles and updates on America in the UK.

New Marshall Commissioners Appointed Commemorating the Special Relationship
The MACC oversees the Marshall Scholarship scheme which finances young Americans of high ability to study for a graduate degree in the UK

Published on May 2, 2019

Marshall Scholarship Logo Marshall Scholarship Logo

The UK's Foreign and Commonwealth Office has announced 4 new members of the Marshall Aid Commemoration Committee (MACC), the body which marks the Special Relationship between the US and UK by financially supporting bright young Americans to study in the United Kingdom.

The Marshall Aid Commemoration Act, passed by the British Parliament in 1954, recognized the importance of the Marshall Plan which had enabled America's financial support for the UK in the aftermath of the Second World War. Today, the Marshall Scholarship scheme, adminstered by the MACC, supports up to 40 Scholars each year from the United States who are invited to study at graduate level at a UK institution in any field of study.

The 4 new members of the Commission will take up their placements in August 2019 for an initial 3 year term. Those new members starting in 2019 include:

Adam Smith, currently Professor of United States History at University College London. From August 1 2019, Mr Smith will move to a new post as Edward Orsborn Professor of US Politics and Political History and Director of the Rothermere American Institute (RAI) at the University of Oxford.

Adrian Greer, currently the Chief Operating Officer for the British Council - he will be stepping down from that role on May 10.

Judith Buchanan, Dean of the Faculty of Arts and Humanities and Professor of Film and Literature at the University of York. She was a Fulbright scholar from 1992-1993.

Leslie Vinjamuri, Dean of the Queen Elizabeth II Academy and also Head of the US and Americas programme at Chatham House.

Discussing the appointments, Foreign and Commonwealth Office Minster of State, the Rt. Hon Mark Field MP, explained that "The Marshall Scholarship Scheme is an exceptional programme and demonstrates the ongoing, close relationship between the UK and the US. Our Marshall scholars will have an opportunity not only to study in the UK’s world leading higher education system but to develop a lasting understanding of British society, building life-long connections ... I am grateful to the Marshall Commissioners for volunteering their time to ensure the continued success of the programme. I know we will see more alumni use this opportunity the UK has given to them to go on to become prominent leaders, joining prestigious company like the Chairman and co-founder of LinkedIn, a NASA Astronaut currently at the International Space Station and two current Supreme Court Justices."

MACC Chairman, Christopher Fisher, added that "The Marshall Scholarship Programme has a fantastic track record in contributing to the enduring strength of UK-US ties. The Commission is fully committed to sustaining the scale, quality and vitality of this successful programme."

For more information on the Marshall Scholarship programme, history and further details are available from www.marshallscholarship.org


Like what you've read?

Subscribe to The American magazine to receive more Star Spangled content covering America in the UK


© All contents of www.theamerican.co.uk and The American copyright Blue Edge Publishing Ltd. 1976–2020
The views & opinions of all contributors are not necessarily those of the publishers. Whilst every effort is made to ensure that all content is accurate
at time of publication, the publishers, editors and contributors cannot accept liability for errors or omissions or any loss arising from reliance on it.
Contact Us | Privacy Policy